skip navigation

DCSAA inducts 11 new members into the high school hall of fame

By Josh Barr, 06/08/19, 9:00AM EDT



WASHINGTON, D.C. – The District of Columbia State Athletic Association on Thursday night inducted 11 new members into its DCSAA High School Hall of Fame.

“Let me reiterate something I have said in the past – I would not be here today, in the position that I have in high school athletics, were it not for those who we honor this evening,” DCSAA Executive Director Clark Ray said. “It is an honor to share this stage with these men and women tonight and ackonowldge all that they have done and continue to do for athletics, especially in the District of Columbia.”

The inductees made their marks as athletes, coaches, game officials and administrators. Their impact was far and wide, making a difference for thousands of student-athletes in the District.

A capacity crowd that included VIPs and Hall of Fame members gathered in the television studio at the DC Office of Cable, Television, Film, Music and Entertainment as the induction ceremony was filmed to be shown at a later date.

This year’s inductees were:

Esther Story Harper, a former standout track performer and National Cathedral School and Howard University who was the youngest member of the U.S. Olympic team at the 1968 Mexico City Summer Games.

Lawrence “Larry” Hill, a former football and basketball player at Armstrong High, who became a college basketball and football official and then an NFL official, serving as the replay official for Super Bowl XXXVIII in 2004.

Jim Howell, an All-Met basketball player and all-league football player at Carroll High who played basketball at American University. A career employee of DCPS and longtime principal at Taft Junior High, he also was a college basketball official and was the first African-American to referee an NCAA men’s basketball championship (UCLA vs. Memphis State in 1973).

Otto Jordan, a standout letter winner in football, basketball and track and field at Dunbar High and two-time All-American in football at Howard University. Was a teacher, coach and assistant principal in DCPS, and then served as DCPS Supervising Director of Athletics, where his tenure included the upgrading and expanding of athletic programs.

Dick Myers, longtime boys basketball coach at Gonzaga, who guided his teams to four Catholic league championships. Had a career record of 714-362 and 61 of his former players became captain of the college teams.

Lonnie Perrin, sensational football and basketball player at McKinley Tech, was an All-Big Ten football player at the University of Illinois and showed a commitment to the community. Played for the Denver Broncos, Chicago Bears and Washington Redskins during his NFL career and played in Super Bowl XII.

Willie Stewart, played football at Dunbar High and Elizabeth City State University before becoming one of the District’s most successful high school football coaches. Coached at Eastern and Anacostia high schools for 34 seasons, compiling a record of 214-142 with 13 DCIAA title game appearances and seven Turkey Bowl victories.

John Tatum Sr., played basketball and baseball and was a member of the swimming team at Armstrong High, beginning a lengthy career of success in the pool. As an adult, joined the Water Wizards swim team and competed in large meets, most recently winning three gold medals in the 2014 DC Senior Games to qualify for the 2015 National Senior Games, where he also won three gold medals.

Marie Williams, highly successful girls basketball coach built a dynasty at St. John’s as the Cadets won four Washington Catholic Athletic Conference titles and three City Titles in five years.

Maury Wills, standout basketball, football and baseball player at Cardozo High, enjoyed a 13-year Major League Baseball career. Was named an all-star seven times, played on three World Series championship teams and was the 1962 National League MVP.

Willie Wood, a star at Armstrong High, played at the University of Southern California and signed with the Green Bay Packers, where he moved to free safety and became a star, playing in eight Pro Bowls in nine seasons, helping the Packers to six NFL championship games and five titles. Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1989.

The 2018 DCSAA High School Hall of Fame induction class were Dave Bing, Frank P. Bolden Sr., William G. “Billy” Coward, Joe Gallagher, Sylvester “Sal” Hall, Robert “Glenn” Harris, Edwin B. “E.B.” Henderson, Joe Kozik, Anne Renninger and Aaron Webster.

The 2017 DCSAA High School Hall of Fame inaugural inductees were Elgin Baylor, Allen Chin, Mason Clark, Maurice “Maus” Collins, Adrian Dixon, Al Forman, Bob Headen, Lucille Hester, Butch McAdams and Wanda Oates.